bars · cookies

“Bronzies” : blondies with toasted cashews, marzipan, and white and dark chocolate.

This is an unusual recipe from the food folks over at Food 52. If you can tear yourself away from the shop, filled with gorgeous cookware and other fun stuff for the kitchen, I’d suggest looking through their recipes. They are consistently great and different from the usual fare.

These blondies are rich and chewy with more than a hint of white chocolate, which you melt right in with the butter to make the batter. Then, you add chopped marzipan, toasted cashews, dark chocolate chips, and more white chocolate. They would make an excellent addition to any Christmas cookie tray. They will travel, ship, and freeze well.

Notes for the next time I make them:

  • I will be sure to use dark brown sugar. Light brown worked fine but I think the added layer of the molasses-rich dark brown sugar would make it even better.
  • I might also use already toasted and salted cashews. I toasted raw, unsalted cashews myself. They were good, but you know how I love the salty/sweet combo.

Leave a comment