cookies

The Lazy Person’s Chocolate Chip Cookie

I love having counters free of STUFF. I want to see vast expanses of gleaming clean tile in my kitchen whenever possible. Every night before I go to bed, I try my damnedest to clear and clean off my kitchen island and counters. It’s good for my well-being.

I also love baking. And because I want clear counters, I hide my KitchenAid stand mixer in my pantry. This is great for my kitchen aesthetic, but can be a hurdle to when I want to bake. Haul it out, set it up, clean it off, haul it back. It’s not terrible, but sometimes, I just can’t be bothered.

This is where the Salty Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe comes in.

This recipe, which was created by Shelly over at Cookies and Cups, and only appears in her cookbook (see my note below for a link to the cookbook), doesn’t call for a mixer of any kind! You make the dough in a sauce pan and a large bowl, using a wooden spoon. Plus, because you brown the butter in the sauce pan, you don’t have wait for the butter to soften up! I was like, yes. Sign me up. The fact that these cookies are easy to make and impart the nutty, complex flavor of browned butter, and these are my go-to when I want chocolate chip cookies. The finished cookies are crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle, which is just exactly the way I like them.

So, whether you don’t have a mixer, or you’re just too lazy to haul out your stand mixer, I think you should try these.

As a side note: These cookies are the cover recipe for Shelly’s The Cookies & Cups Cookbook recipe book, which is full of delicious treats, great dinner ideas, and some really helpful hints. Plus, Shelly’s writing is delightful. I definitely recommend this book. It’s become a staple in my kitchen!

Leave a Reply

