bars · cookies

Salted Caramel Pretzel Crunch Bars 

Full disclosure: These are probably a little over the top. 

A shortbread crust topped with crushed pretzels topped with homemade salted caramel sauce topped with chocolate and sprinkled with sea salt. I might have even stirred in a tablespoon of peanut butter in the chocolate topping. Because..in for a penny, in for a pound, especially when it comes to dessert, am I right? 

This recipe is from Sally’s Baking Addiction blog. Her recipes are consistently great and reliable. I took her tip of making the caramel sauce ahead of time, so the rest of the recipe came together pretty quickly. I also doubled the caramel recipe so I have plenty left over to use as ice cream topping. Here’s to planning!! 

I was distracted and didn’t press the pretzels into the unbaked shortbread, which made spreading the caramel over them a little complicated, but I persisted. I’m a survivor. 

I cut them into tiny squares. They’re rich enough that one or two bites will satisfy even the sweetest of sweet tooths. (That’s me.) Give these a try and let me know what you think! 

Leave a Reply

