bars · cookies

Brown Butter Sugar Cookie Bars with Salted Caramel Buttercream.

You. Guys.

This Brown Butter Sugar Cookie Bars with Salted Caramel Buttercream recipe from The Recipe Critic’s blog is the stuff of dreams.

There is nothing in this recipe that I don’t love. Brown butter? Check. Sugar cookie? Check. Salted caramel? Double check. Buttercream? Hell, yes. Yaaaasss, even.

There are two things I would adjust in the recipe – aside from the author’s use of  “course” when referring to a type of sea salt. I’m an English major, so these things bother me.

  1. I’d recommend using the flaky type of sea salt for sprinkling over the frosting. Specifically, I recommend Maldon’s Flaky Sea Salt. It’s somehow simultaneously soft and crunchy. I can’t explain it, but I think it’s the best salt for finishing.
  2. To get the nice light caramel color on the bars like in my picture (which I prefer to the darker color on the recipe), just keep an eye on the bake time so that the bars don’t overbrown. It’s totally your preference, but I like a blonder cookie bar.

As an aside, you can expect to see a lot of salted caramel stuff on this blog. It’s my unicorn flavor.

Leave a Reply

